Berio, Luciano

Oneglia (now Imperia) 1925 - 2003




With Bruno Maderna, Berio is one of the founders of the Centro di Fonologia Musicale of Italian Radio Rai in Milano (1954), which was born in the fervent atmosphere of the post-war period not long after those in Cologne and Paris. Luciano Berio was formed by the Conservatory of Milan under Ghedini, and in the United States under Dallapiccola.

Ha kept courses of composition in Darmstadt, Darlington (Summer School), California (Mills College), and at the Harvard University and Juilliard School in New York (1965-71); he also worked at the Columbia University. In 1975 he was head of a department of IRCAM in Paris. The use of electronic music (Thema, Différences, Momenti, Visage) influenced the study of traditional music produced by Berio which can be seen in the wide range of sound resources he uses, in the means of communication and the variation of musical languages he uses, drawing often from Folk and pop music (see Beatles).


Music for theatre
Berio's pieces for theatre: Allez-hop! (1959), Passaggio (1963), Traces (1964), Laborintus II (1965), Opera (1970), La vera Storia (1982), Un Re in ascolto (1983), Outis (1996).


Music for orchestra
Nones (1954), Variazioni (1954), Divertimento (1955, in collaboration with Maderna), Allelujah, I and II, (1955, 1957), Quaderni (three of which: 1959, 1961 and 1964), Epifanie with voice (1961-65), the series Chemins for soloist instruments and orchestra (1964 e 1965), Sinfonia with 8 voices (1968-69), Bewegung (1971). Followed by Concerto for 2 pianos and orchestra, Il ritorno degli Snovidenia for cello and orchestra (both of which: 1972-73) and Coro for choir and orchestra (1975-76).


Chamber music
Circles for voice, harp and percussion (1960), Sincronie for string quartet (1964), Sequenze (from I to VIII for solo instrument), Questo vuol dire che per soloists, small choirs, instruments and magnetic tape (1969).


The Kunst der Fuge Biographies of Composers: Berio by Nausica Th. Classical.
Contribution for the translation: B.K. Drabsch.
A. Gentilucci, Introduzione alla Musica Elettronica (Feltrinelli, 1972)
Nuova Enciclopedia della Musica, Garzanti (Garzanti, 1983)
Grande Enciclopedia tematica (Garzanti, 2003-4), © 2003-06. All rights reserved.